Sorin Fellowships

Apply To The Sorin Fellows Program

The Center for Ethics and Culture’s Sorin Fellowship Program provides Notre Dame and Saint Mary’s College undergraduate and graduate students an opportunity to deepen their understanding of the Catholic moral and intellectual tradition and examine the many ways they can be brought to bear on pressing ethical issues in culture and public policy today.

Named in honor of Notre Dame’s founder, Rev. Edward Sorin, C.S.C., as part of the university’s bicentennial celebration of his birth, the Sorin Fellowship Program takes as its inspiration Father Sorin’s vision that Notre Dame might be “a powerful means for good” in the world. Through this student formation program, undergraduate and graduate students are given the tools and support necessary to deepen their understanding of complex ethical issues and amplify Notre Dame’s witness to authentic human dignity and the common good in the public square.

The Sorin Fellowship Program provides students the opportunity to build lasting relationships with other fellows and Notre Dame faculty, participate actively in the intellectual life of the Center and its programming, and gain access to a wide range of unique opportunities, including:

  1. specialized mentorship by Notre Dame professors;
  2. exclusive meetings with influential leaders and distinguished visitors to the university, including Supreme Court justices, Vatican officials, bioethicists, and scholars at the top of their fields;
  3. assistance finding and funding summer internships in a variety of fields;
  4. opportunities to organize student-led events;
  5. research projects guided by leading scholars within and outside Notre Dame, and more.

For more information, contact Associate Director Ryan Madison.

Apply To The Sorin Fellows Program

This year's Sorin Fellows are:

Class of 2017

  • Crystal Avila
  • Barry Bryant
  • Alyson Cox
  • Christopher deNicola
  • Monica Golbranson
  • Kate Hardiman   
  • Thomas Karam
  • Michael Moss
  • Julia Murray
  • Kathryn O'Callaghan
  • Jimmy Perry
  • Makenna Siebenaler
  • Bridgid Smith
  • Alexis Stefaniak
  • Brian Vetter

Class of 2018

  • Caroline Beecher
  • Brendan Besh
  • Anna Bradley
  • Giancarlo Carozza
  • Jeanne Farnan
  • Ann Gallagher
  • John Paul Gschwind
  • Darcy James
  • Grace McGurn
  • Nicole O’Leary
  • Daniel Olivieri
  • Juliana Pellino
  • Stephanie Reuter
  • Molly Robinson 
  • Lauren Saunee
  • Clare Scantling
  • Tim Seida
  • Molly Weiner 

Class of 2019

  • Kateri Chabot
  • Vivian Crumlish
  • Melinda Davis 
  • Gavin Ennis
  • Joe Everett
  • Samuel Fentress
  • Harriet Fink
  • Emily Fischer
  • Joe Kelley
  • James Kelsey
  • Matthew Marsland
  • Meg Spesia
  • Keenan White

Law Students

  • Michael Barrett
  • Audrey Beck
  • Richard Benson
  • Seth Bostrom
  • Meredith Holland
  • Brian Mauldin
  • Michael Mercurio
  • Leslie Nagel
  • Nicholas Schilling
  • David Wilhelmsen

Theology Graduate Students

  • Brian Boyd
  • Mariele Courtois
  • Alex Roth
  • Zachary Thomas